I’m Sorry, But I Do Not Write Wimps…

From the select few that have read my writing, the most common thing that I have been told repeatedly is the lack of angst in my work. I’m not bashing anybody who likes reading fiction that has an onslaught of ambivalent, angst-ridden characters. If that’s what you like, go for it. But my taste in gay fiction has always leaned towards the characters that are immensely complicated and a powerhouse in their lives and a demon in the bedroom. In my own life, I have met many gay men who are like this. Men who are blunt, decisive, and direct. Some of which will (excuse my language) fuck you up verbally and or physically if they feel disrespected. It is these kinds of guys that I have always looked up to. All of them range in age from their mid-twenties to their late fifties.

I feel like writing about these kinds of guys shows that being gay doesn’t pigeonhole you. That, like everybody else, you can be whatever you want to be and you don’t have to nor should you back down from any challenge that comes in your way. My favorite quote has always been by Eleanor Roosevelt. “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.” I believe that we need to be reminded that we define ourselves and I feel that this should be reflected more in gay literature. But, perhaps, I’m jumping the gun. Maybe there’s an entire plethora of gay literature out there with characters like this that I have yet to discover. If anybody knows of any novels, feel free to enlighten me.

Leave a Reply

